Feedback

The website has been up for a few weeks and a few people who have had the password have tested it for me. The feedback I have got has been very interesting. There are things I am going to have to change about the website before the Show as I have detailed in a previous post.

Here I will share the feedback I have received and attempt to break it down to find out how I can improve the site and project for the future.

I have added the comments (highlighted like this) to the form.

There were 3 comments about the fonts and typography used in the website, so I will be re-adjusting them to make them more user friendly.

Creating a legend for the map has been a plan of mine all along, however when the flash piece was completed I didn’t have any information from the artists.

I am still considering whether to put any of the pictures in the pages before the map.
I would quite like to keep the suspense, however I might make a small flash animation or photomonatge for the logo/background.

The zooming issue is one I am working on, however using the mouse wheel to zoom in and out is a lot harder than I initially thought, so I’m not sure I will achieve this before the show.

The other comments are things I am considering, but they aren’t major changes.

______________________________________________________________________________________________________

Feedback from web based form:

Are you a:

visitor?

local?

local?

local?

What age range to
you fall in?

Over 50

19-25

26-35

26-35

How did you hear about the project?

Friend

Other

Friend

Other

Other

From you

Is the website easy to use?

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Do you like the design and layout of the website?

Yes, very much so

Its ok

Its ok

Its ok

What about the website would you change?

Do like most of it some of the grey type could be slightly lighter and some of the map typography (calligraphic style) could be more open and easier to read, Love the imagery for each section though and the black and white style is more informative than any of the other pics so could be used as an intro pic, or others as intro pics on the first page,, to wet the appetitie to go further with the project, Explained very clearly and shows collaborative skills and is cross disciplinary which is marvellous.

– Easier to navigate, eg. Go back links

Suggestions: – Adding a legend in the map (slide in, pop in as you scroll the mouse on the piece for eg.) with artist name + artwork name OR what art was used to create the piece. Maybe connecting what you have really nicely done in the “Meet the artists” page, but embedding that, maybe as an extension, in the map.


Adding social networks and participation elements to it.

Connecting info the web already has about each area of Bristol to your map.. for example from wikipedia or tag plug in options.

Have you imagined the BAM as a central point, made by bristolian artists, of art information in Bristol?! Events in each area, comments, twitter,
etc.. just ideas that might match with your BAM.

I would very careful with the use of fonts… I think there is a bit of a clash of fonts in the design…

I’d like to see more on the pages before the map, like map related images or background andmore colour so each page is of interest.

Did you find the map easily?

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Were the instructions easy to folllow?

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

What do you think about the interactivity map?

Good interactivity enjoyable too!

I couldn’t understand the changing pieces. Maybe didn’t do it properly. Actually I was wondering.. because in the “Meet Artists” page I found more pieces that I didn’t find on the map.

(Make the image files smaller)

I
would love to be able to listen to sound and to zoom in more dramatically… rest it’s great!

(Sound and zoom being worked on)

I
couldn’t work out how to go left and right whilst zooming, so I couldn’t zoom in on things that were difficult to see. I also wasn’t completely keen on a lot of the fonts used in the text sections of the map.

(Make instructions clearer at the beginning, mouse wheel to scroll)

Would you be interested in taking part in creating the bigger map?

Yes

Maybe

Yes

Maybe

Would you like to be able to order a print of the map that you have designed?

Yes

Maybe

Maybe

Maybe

Any other thoughts about the map or website or project as a whole?

I like the diversity of styles and the collage effect of the map showing very different and exciting visualizations of the area, allowing each to have a visual say in the project. It feels a bit about finding a collaborative identity in a city which has a good community feel about it. The map may be more impressive if it was larger?

I love the Idea. Well done Jess. Good luck, and anything you might need and you might think I can help, do not hesitate to shout 😉 By the way I have a question.. what are the requirements or criteria of work submitted for the map? will you have a selection process? For
example I would love to contribute but as I am not exactly an artist, I was wondering what kind of artwork are you looking for or accepting for the BAM. All the best, Happy New Year.

Good Luck!

Marvelous idea Jess! xx

Comment

I find it simple to use and clear

I love the idea

Email Feedback:

Dad 17/12/2011

to me

Very good and naturally biased!

Can you get the roller on the mouse to zoom in and out. It wont work on this map. Its all about speed and the experience!

Geraint Dewi 21/12/2011
to me
Works great for me! No problems at all – I can zoom and out and pan around effortlessly and to my heart’s content. Here are some thoughts that have just emerged from my brain:

-Too many screens for me to get through to reach the art map

-Have a ‘please wait – loading’ while the map loads

-Would be good to have a ‘tool tip’ telling you who the map portion is by (with a link through to a piece about them and why they did their map this way? In fact, I would like a page to appear with just their portion of the map on it!). You can tell I really want to know about who did the map portions…

The ability to switch on and off an ‘orientation’ layer with info on where you actually are: main streets, names of sub-areas etc*

I would make the background white, but hell that’s just me.

*(An orientation layer is something I tried in earlier incarnations of the flash piece and something I will be going back to and developing)

Leave a Reply

